Anne Maths and science tutor QTLS, Diploma, Doctorate, Bachelors

  • Travels 15.0 miles
  • Online Tuition
  • Qualified Teacher

I started tutoring in 1994 and I have worked as a maths and science teacher and also Head of Mathematics teaching GCSE and A level maths including further maths.

I believe in helping the student to understand fully what they are learning not just reciting information from memory. Not all students can recall everything they are told to memorise but understanding how something works or what causes something to happen is more readily remembered. Breaking down difficult subjects into more easily understood concepts in a progressive manner makes learning less stressful and more readily absorbed.

Everyone learns at different rates hence I am flexible with bookings and the amount of time required to cover what needs to be learned.

About Me

I completed my degree in chemistry in 1993 and began my PhD in luminescent solid state materials the following year. Whilst studying for my PhD I began giving tutorials at university in chemistry and maths and also doing some private tution. I found I enjoyed teaching so much that I have maintained a small business offering private tutition.

Following completion of my PhD I continued to work in academic research in physical and materials chemistry and doing tuition until 2002 when I changed career to work in industry. Starting off as a chemist in an analytical laboratory I ended up in management in the automotive, chemical and oil industries. My areas of industrial expertise cover quality, environmental and health and safety auditing and management.

In 2012 I returned to full time tutoring and teaching and currently I am working as a self-employed private tutor. I have also recently worked as head of mathematics in a local independent sixth form college.

In my spare time I coach cycling, kayaking and canoeing and play the classical guitar.

I am a member of the Royal Society of Chemistry and am a chartered chemist.  I have given numerous presentations on both chemistry and quality and have published a number of papers on materials chemistry. I also write book reviews for Intuition which is the magazine of the Society for Education and Training.

Services

I have experience in teaching and tutoring the following:

Chemistry: GCSE, A level and Degree level.

Mathematics and further mathematics: GCSE and A level.

Physics: GCSE and A level.

I am experienced with working online with a number of platforms. However I enjoy working face to face where restrictions permit. 

Rates

A-Level GCSE Degree Adult
Physics £30 £30 - £30
Maths £30 £30 £30 £30
Further Maths £30 £30 - £30
Chemistry £30 £30 £30 £30

Availability

Morning Afternoon Late Afternoon Evening
Monday - -
Tuesday -
Wednesday - - -
Thursday - -
Friday -
Saturday - - - -
Sunday - -

Qualifications