Hannah Mechler English and German Tutor Masters, Doctorate, Bachelors

  • Travels 10.0 miles
  • Online Tuition

I am a postgraduate student at the University of York, currently starting my second year as an English PhD student. I previously completed my Master in English Literary Studies at the same university and did a BA in English and American Studies with History as a minor subject at the University of Mannheim, Germany, before that. I could never quite decide what I enjoyed the most, so my studies have been broad, encompassing some linguistics, History, cultural studies, Anglo-Saxon literature, queer literature - I simply like learning about different subjects. In my spare time I play a full-contact, mixed gender sport as a bit of a change to the time spent indoors reading. I also have a small dog called Milo; he can often be seen sleeping in the background during my online lessons and has accompanied me to many in person lessons.
I've worked as a research assistant and tutor during my studies, teaching Study Skills, how to write a History paper, how to research etc. I have also been working as a private tutor since November 2018, teaching German and English for GCSE and A Level students. I have loved being a part of their journey and improving their confidence, and I treasure the cards and texts I received from those who succeeded in achieving their goals.

Services

For new students, I like to start with them telling me what they perceive to be their strengths and weaknesses and what their goals are. What do they want to achieve (e.g. a certain grade, more confidence, be prepared for a specific exam, exchange abroad etc.) and what do they believe is stopping them from that at the moment? It is alright if they are not sure about some aspects, it simply gives me a good place to start and an idea of how to structure the lessons. If any additional issues are identified during the lessons, those are worked into the lessons and the focus is shifted if necessary. I believe it is important to boost the confidence of your students and to find out what motivates them specifically. Some might claim they are a bad writer for example, when in fact they are not and they are simply lacking the toolkit for writing skills or an understanding of how to structure an essay. Many of my German students start out with apologising for their language skills - no need! You are learning a foreign language and that takes time. I strive to offer a non-judgemental environment in which they can work on their confidence and skills with a native speaker. For those who are considering becoming one of my students, I will always do my best to support you, to help you grow and to achieve your goals in a manner that works for you.

I offer lessons for English Literature as well as for German, currently teaching remotely due to the ongoing COVID-19 restrictions. I can be flexible with my availability to a degree, so please do still contact me even if you require different timings. 

Rates

A-Level GCSE Degree Adult Other
German £15 £15 - £15 £15
English Literature £15 £15 £15 £15 £15

Availability

Morning Afternoon Late Afternoon Evening
Monday - - -
Tuesday - -
Wednesday - - - -
Thursday - - -
Friday - - -
Saturday - - - -
Sunday - - - -

Qualifications

  • Masters - English Literary Studies Verified

    Masters in English Literary Studies, dissertation "Patterns of Entrapment, Escape, and Return: Childhood and the Coming-of-Age Narrative in Australasian Indigenous Films”. Graduated with Merit. Course Rep (providing support and representation for students) during my studies.

  • Doctorate - English/Gender Studies (on-going) Student

    Currently working on a PhD project (Queer Pacific Literature) at the University of York, expected thesis submission date 2023.

  • Bachelors - English and American Studies (with History as a minor subject) Verified

    Bachelor Degree in English and American Studies with History as an extended minor subject, graduated with a First. I worked as a research assistant/tutor during my studies.