Neil Successful English, Maths & French Tutor Doctorate, Masters, QTS, Bachelors

  • Online Tuition
  • Qualified Teacher

I am a successful and experienced teacher of English, Maths and French to learners of all ages, and I offer support to university students (and faculty!) who need help with their academic writing and research projects.
I live in Malvern, Worcestershire, with my wife (Pauline), who also teaches (English, Economics and Business Studies).
With over 30 years of teaching experience, I still get great enjoyment from helping my students succeed.
Talk to us about how we can help you, too...!

About Me

In my career, I have taught all ages from young children to senior citizens - in schools, colleges and universities in this country and in Europe.
Currently, I teach English/EFL, Maths and French at HELLO Learning in Malvern, Worcestershire.
We teach all ages from 11+ to A-level (and beyond); and EFL from elementary level to IELTS and Cambridge First, Advanced and Proficiency.
In addition, we support university staff and students with research tuition and support, proofreading and academic writing courses.  A lot of this work is with academics and health professionals - doctors, nurses, pharmacists etc - who have qualified overseas and need to gain recognised English language certification. We also work with those embarking on careers in business, law and finance, with the specialised exams in Business English (BEC & BULATS), English for Law (ILEC) and English for Finance (ICFE).

Services

I teach English/EFL, Maths, French and Study Skills. For most of my career, I have worked in schools and privately, teaching English and Maths but, more recently, I have been asked by students to help them with their French conversation and GCSE exam preparation.
I also do a lot of academic support work - proofreading and teaching research methods. For example, currently, I am helping a new author by correcting and editing a gothic fantasy novel.

Rates

A-Level Professional KS3 GCSE Degree Adult Other
Maths - - £30 £30 - £30 -
Writing - £30 - - £30 £30 -
English Literature £30 - £30 £30 - £30 -
English £30 £30 £30 £30 £30 £30 -
French - - £30 £30 - £30 £30
EFL - £30 - - £30 £30 £30

Availability

Morning Afternoon Late Afternoon Evening
Monday
Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday - -
Saturday - - - -
Sunday - - - -

Qualifications

  • Doctorate - Education Verified

    My doctoral work was in Special Education and Education Psychology, with a special focus on educational services for adolescents suffering from mental health and behaviour difficulties. During the latter stages (1997-99), I joined the SEEP research team, under Professor Harry Daniels, and co-authored the Department for Education and Science study (RR90, DfES), which helped to shape policy in this field in the ensuing years.

  • Masters - History of Art and Design Verified

    Following postgraduate studies in English philology, I was fascinated by the history of ideas, for example, the cross-fertilisation of ideas from the sciences to the arts, or from politics into literature. At this time, the leading course outside London was in Birmingham, where I benefitted from studying under Professor Georg Noszlopy and colleagues, especially Dr Mike Harrison.

  • QTS - DES certification for qualified teacher status Verified

    1981

    Government certification of qualified teacher status.

  • Bachelors - Education Verified

    Professional teaching qualification (Bachelor of Education), at the then West Midlands College of Higher Education. I studied English/Drama, Maths and PE and qualified in 1981.

Feedback

  • Local GCSE English studentParent

    Dec 2019
    I wanted to let you know that (my son) has found the few lessons he has had with you very valuable. Many thanks for your help so far.
  • IELTS student from IraqParent

    Nov 2018
    I’m happy to tell you that I finally passed IELTS. I got the result from the British Council website: overall 8, with 9 in Listening, 8 in Reading, and 7 in both Writing and Speaking. Thank you so much, from the bottom of my heart, for all the help and support you have provided me. You are the best teacher I have ever known. Best wishes to you and your lovely family.
  • British/Spanish StudentParent

    Sep 2018
    I am writing to express my sincere thanks and utmost appreciation for your proofreading of my dissertation on Rider Haggard and the noble Savage trope. I received my grades today and achieved 75%, something that I know was greatly aided by your astute assessment of my work. For your help, I will be leaving positive reviews for you on the Tutor Pages website. I look forward to working with you next year for my MA dissertation.
  • Local A-level studentParent

    Aug 2018
    Just to let you know I have passed my English. Thank you for all your help. I couldn't have done it without you.
  • Mother of female homestay studentParent

    Jul 2017
    The excellent courses were adapted to her level and allowed her to make great progress. Overall rating 5/5
  • Physiotherapist from PolandParent

    Jan 2017
    Just to let you know I passed my IELTS. I got 7.5 in my reading and got 8 and 9s in the others so very pleased. It was very good working with you, thanks for your time.
  • Mother of Italian male homestay studentParent

    Sep 2016
    It was a very good experience. You are very nice people. Very very good!!!! Overall rating 4.5/5 Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
  • Cambridge First Certificate student from SwitzerlandParent

    Feb 2014
    Hello! How are you two?  I still miss England a lot and I am figuring out when I am able to come back. But there are great news! I passed my exam!!! Jupiii :D Thank you so much again. :D That means I can come without any worries about studying :D :D :D I am so happy about that :)
  • French homestay studentParent

    Oct 2013
    An excellent experience for my daughter...made my daughter feel like at home. English lessons professional and effective. My daughter wants to repeat the experience Overall rating 4.8/5