Tom Cock Enthusiastic Maths and Physics Tutor PGCE, Other, Masters

  • Travels 10.0 miles
  • Online Tuition
  • Qualified Teacher

Hello! 

I'd love to help you achieve your potential in Maths or Physics at GCSE, A level, foundation or early undergraduate level.  Whether you're a high flier looking for top grades, or just looking to improve your understanding, I can help you define and achieve your goals.

I know that people often find Maths and Physics tricky, and friends or teachers telling you "its easy" aren't very helpful.  I'd like to get to know you and what you find challenging, so we can work through the difficult concepts together, then turn that new understanding into success.

I'm friendly, approachable, comfortable with tutoring online and have bags of teaching experience. 

I look forward to hearing from you soon!

About Me

I have 7 years experience teaching young adults at foundation, A level and undergraduate level, and I have specialised in Maths and Physics.  I came to teaching via a friend as an emergency cover teacher for an accounting course and discovered that I loved being in the classroom and helping students to understand difficult and sometimes dry concepts.  I always try to bring the subject to life and explain how what we study matters in the real world.  I was fortunate in being able to move from accounting into maths and physics teaching, and have spent many years bringing the joys of physics to students on foundation programmes who would not typically encounter it.

I have been a private tutor on and off for several years and have helped A-level students with physics, maths, business and economics to do well in their exams.

On top of this, I am an examiner for Cambridge Assessment and work on their international AS level physics team.  This means I've got a great understanding of what examiners are looking for in exam answers, although it does mean I cannot tutor you if you're taking Cambridge International exams- sorry!

Outside of teaching, I'm a father of two lovely girls and enjoy spending time walking with them and my dog.  I am also a keen gamer and programmer, and am (slowly!) developing my own game using the Unity Engine.

Services

I offer private one-to-one tuition from one to three hours, so you can tailor your sessions to your needs, and mix and match over time.

I am also happy to offer tuition to small groups (up to 4) for a lower per-person rate if you have a few friends or siblings who are looking to study together.  Not only will it be cheaper per person but it can be a lot of fun!

By preference I tutor online, but I can also travel to areas in my location by discussion. However, during the current COVID restrictions all sessions will be online.

 

Rates

A-Level GCSE Degree Adult
Further Maths £40 £40 - -
Statistics £40 £40 - £40
Maths £40 £40 £40 £40
Physics £40 £40 - £40

Availability

Morning Afternoon Late Afternoon Evening
Monday
Tuesday - -
Wednesday
Thursday
Friday -
Saturday - - - -
Sunday - - - -

Qualifications

  • PGCE - Higher Education Verified

    I took my PGCHE whilst teaching at ARU as part of their staff professional development programme.

  • Other - Fellowship of Higher Education Academy Verified

    I gained a fellowship of the Higher Education Academy in 2015 recognising my work as a university lecturer.

  • Masters - Engineering Verified

    I hold an MA MEng from Cambridge University, where I studied an integrated 4-year masters. I specialised in Manufacturing Engineering.